Home > 1/2 Marathon, California Dreamin' Racing > Walking with my Cousin for his First Half Marathon

Walking with my Cousin for his First Half Marathon

Just ran the Huntington Beach Surf City Half Marathon 2011 for the final part of the California Dreamin’ Racing Series 2011. My mom went to the convention to save me time of going there especially Friday at 2:00 PM, would have been so much traffic. She didn’t know that I was an XL in long-sleeves. I went to try on my Cal Dreamin’ jacket and it barely fit, very snug. I went to try on my race shirt in the morning and it looked like a weight lifters shirt. If my muscles were any bigger it would have ripped. Flattering of course but would have been hard to run in.

Ate a good butter and pasta dinner when I got home from work the night before. Watched a movie with my mom and little cousin and then passed out on my bed. Don’t even remember falling asleep. I just remember my mom coming in trying to wake me up. Took the usual cutting it close time to get ready. Put the spray on Vaseline that we picked up in Vegas a few months back and it worked really well. I didn’t do too much running in the race so I’m still a little iffy on it but if it holds true when I run in the summer than I’ll definitely start using that over the cream. I don’t mind either one but they did say the spray worked better.

When we go to the parking lot at the Civic Center the bus was right there which was nice. Sometimes you have to wait 30 minutes to get on and then 10-20 minutes to get to the event. It’s always nice to start the event on time. When we got there we made our way to the expo. When I saw it I was pretty happy because the jacket wasn’t really wearable and neither was the shirt, I would have worn it once, maybe twice. Walked in and we asked politely if we could switch them, they didn’t even think it was a problem. We walked over to the shirts and they weren’t as lenient about it because I already had one on which is understandable. Fortunately they had one last XL try-on, awesome. Tried it on right there and it fit wonderfully. It was a little loose (which I don’t mind) and I could tell that a lot of people had worn it (again, don’t mind). With long sleeves, I can’t stand when they go to just the wrists, they always have to go past like a girl’s jacket usually does. If they’re that big, usually, the sleeves aren’t as constricting either. We also found out from talking to the volunteer that it was luck the tent was still open, so thank you to all the volunteers for keeping it open.

We walked out and took some pictures with the Surf City logos. Then we made it to our wave and walked up three more. The hardest part is waiting to go because twenty minutes with people arm to arm seems like forty minutes. My cousin was bouncing off the walls in anticipation of doing his first one. I almost feel bad for the people around us, it was like a slow-motion pinball machine.

The metaphorical gun goes off and we started our first run. We took off and kept running and kept running. I just did three half marathons in January at a 12:00 pace, a lot of the time an 11:30 pace and I knew I was running a lot faster than that. I just kept telling them, guys you’re going really fast. They kind of looked at me like we need to keep going, I just said alright. We made a pit stop just short of the three mile marker. Ten minutes later and a little stretching during we were off again. We made another pit stop a mile or two after, 10 minutes and stretching again. We were doing a little jogging down this curved slope and all of a sudden, 3:00 pacer comes out right behind me and I just go, see, you guys were hallin’. 3:30 pace, which is usually what my mom gets, a little bit over that is about a 15:00-16:00 pace.

This was really just a fun run. No pressure at all like I was feeling on the other ones in January (’cause I wanted to break that 2:30 time). I just went at their pace, talked a little, a lot of great signs that we can hopefully put up on the site soon. It was the best beachfront one that I’ve done yet. I’m not sure I can get much better than that because I knew every part of the beach I was running on, I knew the whole course except for a neighborhood we looped into (it’s always nice running in a place you recognize). The sun was looking like it was going to be hot when we started but the marine layer was fantastic until about mile 11 then it was a little hotter, the clouds moved away.

My little cousin was so funny. At the start he says, “Hey you want to race to the mile marker?” And we did. He would say it a few times. At about mile 8, I said to my mom, “Watch this.” “Hey, dude, you want to run to the mile marker?” “Heck no!” He did a great job though. Even for being tired he still had a lot of energy and could have done a little more. He’s a trooper and he really helped out the charities that the marathon supports (I believe making wheelchairs for third world countries).

For this one, our thing we kept saying during the run is that we’re all going to cross the finish line together. Well, it’s a longstanding joke for the people that know that my mom brags about beating my friend and I in the LA marathon, our first race in 2007. So, I’ve made it a thing to finish before her in every run we do together and I have. This one, I said no way because you’ll go a little ahead and jump or take a big stride. So, I was in the middle at the end holding both their hands. My mom couldn’t get the last little bit in (rightfully so), until about a 100 yards away. So, we ran across the finish with hands up in the air crossing the finish. We’ll look at the photos to see who crossed first!

We got our medals, Jarret was basically knighted by the volunteer that gave it to him. We got food and stocked up on those aluminum wrap coverings (for other races). We went to the red carpet for a few pictures. Maybe I should call it the black carpet, though? Almost always is on asphalt and only for Rock ‘n’ Roll I believe do they actually have a small red carpet. I feel bad for the people that were waiting in line because we took four photos I believe. One of my cousin, one with everyone, one with me and my cousin, and one with me.

Went to the Results booth. The Cal Dreamin’ medals were all guarded by five or six volunteers. I said later that if the medals were real gold, they probably would have been police. I ripped off this tag that says I get it. Luckily, they have a list of all the people who finished and got my ticket. I met up with the volunteers and they let me in. It was like going to a place only a few get too, pretty neat. The Surf City medal and the Cal Dreamin’ medal are very nice. They make a lot of sense, the colors work together fantastically. They did a great job.

After that, went to our regular Coco’s celebratory dinner and now I’m here writing this story.

Oh and we took a lot more action shots with this marathon which are always the better ones (better than the stills before or after, always the hardest to get or the most expensive).

Final thoughts of the race. It was just a very relaxing run. I didn’t have much of a care in the world and I feel a lot better running it. It was almost like a workout, get pumped, energized, and you feel better about yourself. That’s exactly how I feel right now. Wasn’t tired at all during and no recovery time it seems like, not sore at all. Maybe a day or two just from acid build up and a little skin breakdown. The biggest thing I worry about right now is recovery time, so the fact that it seems very minimal is really great. I’m wondering if that means my body is building the muscle it needs to do these.

Last one for a while. Thank you to everyone who follows and keeps reading. I appreciate all the support because as easy as a lot of people make it look or maybe I make it look easy, there are a lot of times where it can get stressful and exhausting.

Leave a Reply

