Home > 1/2 Marathon > Running 10 Miles at a Local Family Run

Running 10 Miles at a Local Family Run

Mom and I went down an hour early to Irvine to do the Southern California Half Marathon. They have a convention the day before but they also have registration open the morning of which is nice. We parked, luckily, about a 100 yards from the event. So, I walked in to get my stuff while my mom slept in the car. They used a different kind of tracker that was reusable instead of disposable. It was tied with those ties that always have to be untwisted with a new loaf of bread. My bib number was 450 too, very low, considering 7,000 participants.

Took my stuff back to the car and went over to see what was being set up and see where I start off at. Not too much going on, a few local booths, a few teams setting up, and some audio for the mornings pre-race talk. When I was waiting for the start I noticed that it was a very local run. It had the turn out of people matching Donate Life. It was nice to be at a local event. One of the teams with the most people was Students Run LA. Those kids can definitely jog at a face pace when they want too, they have a lot of energy.

Before everyone started, I met a girl who has been doing a lot of these events for a long time. She’s a legacy runner for the Disneyland marathon. She was telling me all about it before we took off. We get to run through Disneyland, see all the characters, and we can be on the Angel’s Stadium jumbo tron. I know why it sells out so quickly now.

Race starts, people take off, and we move up. And we keep moving. And we keep moving. Oh, there’s a free flow, they don’t stop us at all. The nice thing about doing that, even though they can’t do it at larger events, was that the timers were almost dead on to my start time so I just had to subtract a few minutes when they would come up at Water stations. I got my phone out right before the start line (I feel bad because the lady must have thought I was being rude) to send a text to my mom saying “Start” so I would know my time.

We start off at a 10:00 minute pace (the clock read 13:00 at mile 1) and hit an 11:00 minute pace with mile 2. The water stations were a lot easier to maneuver through and not as sticky with less people. Two miles easy. I can do that in my sleep. My face starts getting flustered at mile 3 and I ask myself, “Why am I getting so red? I’m not out of breath but I am a little tired.” Thinking… “Oh, tired. Slow down.” So, I slow my legs down a little bit and a minute later it’s getting back to normal. I took another drink of water they had and couldn’t understand why I was getting so tired. I couldn’t distinguish how they were doing the mile markers (each one does them differently). I see a 4 in the distance, “Oh, that’s why. 4 miles. They do in groups of 2.”

Figured I should keep running until mile 6 at least. I slowed my pace down and kept jogging. It’s weird but I can feel the energy level of my body. At mile 7, I knew it was really low and I had a feeling I wouldn’t make it the whole way, so I took a Gu pack. Get the last little burst that I could. I was wearing down a lot by then. Still running at the same pace but I could tell my mind was even losing it too. I’m not sure when the Gu actually worked but about 20 minutes later I noticed I had all this energy. I picked up the pace just a little bit. I kept telling myself that in SF you did 9 miles, you can do it again. Keep going, keep going. Two more miles and you tie your last time.

My muscles were noticeably wearing down now. Certain parts of my body were sending messages back, stinging pain here, soreness there. “Mile 8. Alright, one more mile. You’ve gone this far right? Don’t be a hero, slow your pace down and tie yourself.” Slowed down. They had us go up and down riverbed/flood control (all dried up, thankfully). Going down isn’t as bad unless you do a hill like the San Diego Half, two minutes of down hill, but going up was harder. I would tell myself to “slow down, slow down, remember it’s a hill, remember it’s a hill, you’re going to be tired doing it.” When I’m running, or you’re running, some people speed up or stay the same on a hill but it wears and when I would do them I would wonder why I was tired. Running it this time, I wanted to make sure I kept going, so I put it all together. The quote is repetitive because your thought process can be crazy jogging that much, which may give way to why I never put two and two together before.

Another reason why it was good to tell myself that is because large muscles groups become tired, quads, calves, noticeable ones, and it takes a minute or two to recover and relax and get mentality back. So, a pre-game pep-talk is a good reminder to not slow down or start walking all together.

“They’re doing each mile now.” I say to myself as I see mile 9. “Alright, don’t be a hero. Keep your pace and beat your mileage.” Pass mile 9, “Slow your pace.” and “You’re going to beat your mile” keep running through my head. Mile 10 comes and fireworks shoot off from the parking lots we jogged by, confetti was thrown everywhere. I beat my time and ran 10 miles, the most I’ve jogged ever and the most I’ve jogged in an event. I ran a little further to 10.4 miles about and the medial arch of my left foot starts cramping with a huge stinging pain. I tried to run on it and then run on it differently but it wouldn’t go away. I thought for sure this would be the one where I run the whole thing. I stopped on the right side of the track and waited for a few minutes for it to go away. It barely cleared up so I thought I would walk it off. My 12:00 minute mile pace turned into 16 minutes. Tried jogging and walking on and off but it was too much for my foot. Settled with walking it off and finishing at least 2:40. My last mile time was around 20 minutes.

If I kept my time, I would have finished a 2:32. I know there’s always next time but I finished a 2:47 with 5 to 600 runners passing me in that time. Finished proudly walking with the sun only making headway the last mile (no sunburning).

You burn a lot of calories running/jogging/walking a half marathon and a marathon. When I’m on the treadmill for about a hour (I almost never look) is usually 500 Calories. Just time wise, 2 1/2 hours would be about 1250 Calories. I hear it’s double that. So, replenishing after the race can be pretty important. The one dislike of this race for me was spectators, not participants, etc, were grabbing boxes of food. I counted one person who had a box of 17 cookies, bagels, the works. The wait must have been 20 minutes at least. I’m okay with anyone taking the food, I am, but let the runners and walkers get a few bites in first.

I will definitely be doing this event again next year. It was a lot more laid back with mile markers that made sense, a lot of water spots, and a lot of energy. I’m definitely going to try and get the family to do it because it’s a nice fun run. Very laid back, not much pressure at all.

Categories: 1/2 Marathon

Leave a Reply

